The Klinger Graveyard

Standard

I have a client coming to my house tomorrow and I always feel the need to make sure everything is perfect. Trust me with two little boys and a 90lb dog it’s hard having a perfectly straightened house. I do my best but… So as I’m walking around dusting and arranging, I’m noticing all of the items in my house that I originally bought for clients but when we didn’t use them, they stayed with me or should I say they went to the Klinger graveyard.

As my husband can attest, when I first started Adentro Designs I would find super sales and so I’d buy things just knowing I would use them soon. Well for the most part, I was left with a garage full of decorative items that was the cause of many arguments at the Klinger household. So now when I find a super sale I either need to have somewhere to place the item immediately or better yet keep it for myself!

Here are some tables that I recently found at Ross for $27 each. That’s right! Only $27. I loved them so much I traveled to three different Ross stores to find the pair that now serve as bedside tables. You might also recognize the mirrors. I bought these mirrors for another client who decided she wasn’t thrilled with them so to my house they came. I mean c’mon. I can’t let $20 mirrors go to waste!! What a deal right?

$27 table!

Here are some wicker vases I bought for a client and while I was waiting for our installation, I stored them in my living room. Needless to say i ended up having to buy more for my client because they looked perfect in that odd alcove I have under the stairs.

Here are some cute little ottomans I found at Target on sale for $13 each. They sat in my garage for almost a year and I finally found a home for them inside.

Here are some candlesticks I bought for a client that were supposed to be returned when they ended up not working in her space. I made the mistake (or was it?) of taking them out and putting them on my dining room table. Needless to say, they never were returned.

One of the advantages to working with a decorator is that by formulating an overall design plan, you can avoid costly mistakes. A lot of people buy things while out shopping only to find that the items don’t work in their space or all work together. I have been working on a design plan for my living room for over a year and because I love so many things, it’s been very difficult. I suppose it’s an occupational hazard. Normally when I walk into a client’s house, I can almost immediately know what I want to do in the space. Unfortunately not in my house. So this is why I call my home the Klinger Graveyard. Eventually I will have my plan complete and you’ll be the first to know about it!

About adentrodesigns

Adentro Designs a full-service interiors firm serving the Greater Austin, TX area. We pride ourselves on offering affordable design and can work with almost any budget. Whether you need some pointers to get your decorating project moving in the right direction, full-service design, color consultations, home staging or remodeling, we're your team. No job is too large or small. We welcome you to our blog and hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

